Section Progress:

There are many grants that are made available to communities, counties, states, and other programs.  The key is to find some funding and establish working partnerships to get a distribution program up and running.  Here are a few examples of funding resources to explore.

Funding Resources

Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA): Division of Highway Safety, Indian Highway Safety program

The Highway Safety Act of 1966, U.S.C. Title 23, Section 402, provides U.S. Department of Transportation funding to assist Indian tribes in implementing traffic safety projects.  These projects are designed to reduce the high number of traffic crashes and their resulting fatalities, injuries and property damage within Indian communities. All federally recognized tribal governments are encouraged to take an active part in the Indian Highway Safety Program (IHSP) by applying for a grant that meets the requirements of U.S.C. Title 23, Section 402.

Link: https://indianaffairs.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OJS/who/fieldops/ojs-dhs/index.htm

Usually in March of each year, BIA holds a grant writing training session in conjunction with NHTSA’s Lifesaver’s Conference.  Applications are due in May of each year. Contact the BIA Indian Highway Safety Program for the application materials.

 

State Highway Safety Offices

Check with your state program for partnership opportunities.

You will find links to all the State Highway Safety Offices here: www.ghsa.org/html/about/shsos.html

 

Toyota’s Buckle Up For Life

The Buckle Up for Life curriculum includes presentations for adults, teens, and children. All participants learn why it’s important to wear a seat belt every time they ride in a car. Adults are also taught how to choose and install a car seat for their children, while teens learn about the dangers of distracted driving. Children benefit from a variety of interactive lessons that drive home messages about staying safe in motor vehicles.

At the end of the program, families that participated in the Buckle Up for Life activities are eligible to receive free car seats. During a car seat check for all participants, certified child passenger safety technicians help install car seats and ensure that children are riding safely.

Contact Buckle up for Life to see if you can host the curriculum and give out car seats in your community.

 

Crissy’s Experience

 “If you have a gap in child safety seat funding, start a waiting list of people who need seats. When the funding comes in again, check with your list to see if they still have a need for seats.”

 

More Tips on Funding

  • Look for additional funding opportunities at your local community health department, car seat manufacturer, and at tribal casino grant funding programs.
  • Look for local philanthropists, foundations, and businesses.
  • Watch for Black Friday and online deals to maximize the car seat funding you do have. Walmart.com has pricing comparable and sometimes cheaper than ordering directly from manufacturers, plus site to store shipping is free.
  • Want to become a CPS technician and need to take a CPS certification training course? Consider asking your employer if they can cover this expense.

 

Discounts from Manufacturers

There are many benefits and perks to being a certified CPS tech. For instance, some car seat manufacturers offer special discounts to certified CPS techs. This is a great way for CPS techs to order discounted seats to start a distribution program, obtain new seats to use for education and teaching purposes, or to order seats for your own children at the discounted rate. Some manufacturers have published discount prices and other manufacturers want you to contact them directly to inquire about cost per seat. There are also other baby items that you can purchase at a discount as well such as strollers, pack and plays, high chairs, baby gates, sun shades, plug protectors, to name just a few. Here is a list of car seat manufacturers that offer these discounts and the person you would contact for more information.

 

List of Child Restraint Manufacturers and Distributors (Safety Belt Safe, USA document)

Angel Guard Products 330-723-5928 www.angel-guard.com

Aprica 888-927-7422 www.aprica.com

Baby Trend Inc. 800-328-7363 www.babytrend.com

Bergeron Health Care 800-371-2778 www.adaptivemall.com

Britax Child Safety 888-427-4829 www.britaxusa.com

BubbleBum 800-969-6586 www.bubblebum.co.us

CARES 800-299-6249 www.kidsflysafe.com

Chicco 877-424-4226 www.chiccousa.com

Clek Inc. 866-656-2462 www.clekinc.com

Columbia Medical 800-454-6612 www.columbiamedical.com

Combi USA, 800-992-6624 www.combiusa.com

Cybex c/o Regal Lager 800-593-5522 www.regallager.com

Diono 855-463-4666 us.diono.com

Dorel Juvenile Group 800-544-1108 www.djgusa.com

Dream on Me 877-768-5500 www.dreamonme.com

Evenflo 800-233-5921 www.evenflo.com

EVS Ltd. 800-364-3218 www.evsltd.com

EZ Lock Inc. 888-952-5625 www.ezlock.net

E-Z-On Products 800-323-6598 www.ezonpro.com

Graco Children’s Products 800-345-4109 www.gracobaby.com

Gresham Driving Aids 800-521-8930 www.greshamdrivingaids.com

GUMOTEX 347-709-9944 heasycarseat.com

Harmony Juvenile Products 877-306-1001 www.harmonyjuvenile.com

Kiddy USA 855-925-4339 www.kiddyusa.com

Kids Embrace 866-947-3287 www.kidsembrace.com

Lilly Gold Div. TriplePlay Products 800-829-1625 www.lillygold.com

Merritt Manufacturing 317-409-0148 www.eztether.com

Nuna 855-686-2872 www.nuna.eu/USA/index

Orbit Baby 877-672-2229 www.orbitbaby.com

Ortho Safe Systems International 609-587-9444 www.orthosafe.com

Q’Straint USA 800-987-9987 www.qstraint.com

Patterson Medical-Sammons Preston 800-323-5547 www.pattersonmedical.com

Peg Perego U.S.A. Inc. 800-671-1701 www.pegperegousa.com

Recaro Child Safety Systems North America 888-973-2276 www.recaro-cs.com

Safe Haven by New Haven 800-421-8700 www.safehaven-usa.com

Safe Traffic System 847-233-0365 www.safetrafficsystem.com

SafeGuard 877-447-2305 www.safeguardseat.com

Safety Angel/Safe Start 561-732-1233 www.safetyangel.com

Serenity Safety Products 800-536-0676 www.serenitysafetyproducts.com

Snug Seat 800-336-7684 www.snugseat.com

Snugli 800-233-5921 www.snugli.com

Summer Infant 800-268-6237 www.summerinfant.com

Sure-Lok 866-787-3565 www.sure-lok.com

Team Tex 877-912-1313

Teutonia USA 877-838-8664

Thomashilfen North America 866-870-2122 www.thomashilfen.us

Tomy 800-704-8697 http://tomy.com http://thefirstyears.com

UPPAbaby 781-413-3030 http://uppababy.com

 

 

To learn more about the daily operations of a car seat distribution program, go to the next section.